The Winds of Winter – Game of Thrones Season 6 Finale

Anyone who knows me knows that my opinion of the last 2 seasons of Game of Thrones is pretty negative. I’m a person who likes my adaptations to stick to the original source material as closely as possible, something Game of Thrones hasn’t done as of late.

Now I know nothing can stick to source material 100%, especially something as large as A Song of Ice and Fire, but they managed well with seasons 1-4 without much of a problem, but then crammed 2 novels (3 books) worth of material into season 5 and then overtook the books for season 6, taking the story into their own hands, but I digress.

Episode 10 of almost all of the seasons has been pretty bad in my opinion. This may be because episode 9 is the big climax to each season and that episode 10 is the aftermath, which is never as enjoyable as the climax itself. However episode 10 of season 6, The Winds of Winter, was definitely a great episode. This episode might even beat episode 9 for me.

Cersei dealt with the High Sparrow and his band of fanatics, as well as taking out Margaery in the process (much to my despair). Daenerys has finally set sail for Westeros, Arya went home and crossed another name of her list (and about time too!), and Tommen met his foreseen demise, if in an unpredictable way.

Despite the fact that Margaery was killed in a fiery explosion and the beautiful Natalie Dormer will no longer be gracing our screens on Game of Thrones, Kings Landing hosted my favourite parts of this episode. I loved seeing Cersei’s plot unfurl. Watching Lancel crawl to the barrels of wildfire to try and put out the fuse was an enjoyable bit of mental torture for the religious fanatic. Seeing him fail was even better. The floor erupting beneath the High Sparrow and the wildfire engulfing him was a beautiful sight (despite, as I’ve said, the tragic deaths of Margaery and Loras Tyrell). What I also found amusing was the fact that Cersei used the zombie Mountain to keep Tommen away from Baelor’s Sept in order to keep him alive, but once he was told of Margaery’s death, he decided to take an stroll out of a high window of the Red Keep. What this means is that Cersei can now die at any time, since the Maegi from her childhood predicted that all of her children will die before her, and now they have. (I’m annoyed about Myrcella but I’ll let it go for now.)

The most satisfying scene in this episode, if not the entire season, was in the Twins. An unknown girl enters the great hall and serves Walder Frey a nice big pie. He wonders aloud where his sons are and the girl insists that they are already there. And by that she meant that they were dead, carved up and baked into the pie that Frey was just about to tuck into. A moment later the girl pulls off her face, revealing Arya Stark, getting revenge at last. After a nice little vengence speech, Arya slices open Walder Frey’s throat, much like how Black Walder murdered Arya’s mother.

Daenerys! Daenerys has finally set sail for Westeros. Six seasons we’ve waited for this and now it’s actually happening. Only without Ser Jorah Mormont or Daario Naharis at Dany’s side.  The big question on everyone’s lips is: When the heck did Varys get back? I also asked myself this question, and from online comments I’ve managed to understand that the last few scenes take place a while after the preceding ones. Varys manages to travel from Dorne back to Meereen, Jaime travels from Riverrun to Kings Landing, and Arya travels from Braavos to the Twins. My only problem with this theory is that Dany and Tyrion are talking about setting sail with no Varys in sight or mentioned. It’s assumed (at least by me) that Dany sets sail very soon after this conversation. I guess I’ll just have to put it down to some confusing editing and move on.

Leave a Reply

